Low Heel? More like NO HEEL!

3 Dec

As I started thinking about what to write for this blog post, I was truly at a loss for words. My thoughts were beyond scattered and I just wanted to word vomit all over the monitor. All I wanted to do was scream, UGLY UGLY UGLY! But let me put some substance behind my feelings towards these – excuse me when I say – chode-like-heels. What I am not understanding (especially for us 5 foot 5 or shorter ladies) is why you would jam on a heel that does NOTHING to elongate your legs or amp up your height. Isn’t that the point of a heel? I understand that some women (and men) don’t prefer to wear such high of heels, so I suggest if you can’t/refuse to wear high heels then stick to a cute flat or comfy wedge. Otherwise, isn’t it just defeating the point? A heel is suppose to not only make an obnoxious clicking noise to make your presence known but to also create the illusion of a taller version of you. I think it’s safe to say that when a woman wears heels, it illustrates confidence and power. So to have these low heels come into play seems to be a 180* of why we wear HIGH heels at all.

Image

Ok – lets not focus on the off-putting leggings/sock duo and the fact that this model’s foot is hanging off the edge, but focus on the heel itself. Did I say heel? Where? This heel couldn’t be any bigger than my pinky finger. The shoe has potential, we can all see that. However, with a stub for a heel…just makes no sense.

Image
[Designer: Chloe]

How awe-inspiring could this shoe be? I see a definite wedge shoe with a flowing dress or skirt. To have constructed such a fanciful shoe only to then tac on a (what looks like) wood chip heel, will never make sense to me.

4 Responses to “Low Heel? More like NO HEEL!”

  1. missflamboyante December 3, 2012 at 1:31 am #

    I agree with you – kitten heels are rather impractical. I wonder if they will ever become trend again and if by then we’ll be able to fully embracing it again. Until then: Kitten – yes, heels: yes; both together: not so good….:)

    • My Cup (or not) of Tea December 3, 2012 at 2:08 am #

      I’m with you on this, Miss Flamboyante. I am hoping they never come back…in my lifetime anyway. I’ve tried to be open minded with this one but it’s not happening for me.

  2. Light Friday December 3, 2012 at 10:27 am #

    I guess I have to get used to it :p haven’t seen those in a while 🙂

    BUT I’m not wearing socks in my open shoes though :p

Leave a Reply

